Culver Neighborhood Association

The Culver Neighborhood is a historic district in Evansville. The first homes were built circa 1860. The area was entirely residential and considered rural at the time. The lots were not laid out on a regular grid as most of the city which lends to the unique quality of the streetscape. The singular character and architecture of this area was recognized when the Culver Historic District was accepted into the National Register of Historic Places in 1984.

The houses here include architectural styles from the last decades of the 19th century and the first decades of the 20th century. Among the styles represented are Queen Anne, Bungalow, Italianate, Prairie, Tudor, Colonial Revival, and Four-Square. The most prominent of Evansville’s architects of the time have houses here- F. Manson Gilbert, Williams Harris, Clifford Shopbell, and Frank Schlotter.

Many of Evansville’s prominent families lived in Culver Neighborhood in its heyday. Some of the families were the Iglehearts (milling); Van Orman (Senator and Lieutenant Governor); North Storm (founder of Red Spot Paint); J. Will Gleichman (Anchor Industries); and Frank A Daus/Armand Emrich (Anchor Industries).  The author of The Man Who Loved Cat Dancing, Marilyn Durham, once resided in Culver Neighborhood.

Today Culver Neighborhood is a blend of grand homes of a bygone era and new homes currently making this one of the most actively developed neighborhoods in the city.

Rathbone apartment building

At one time the Culver Neighborhood Association was known as the South Side Neighborhood Association. In June 1996, the Culver Neighborhood absorbed the area bounded by Parrett, Adams, and Riverside. Throughout the years changes occurred with the boundaries and names of neighborhood associations around this area.

The Culver Neighborhood Association led a walking tour of the Historic Culver Neighborhood in 2019, coinciding with the grand reopening of the Rathbone Home.

The area of the neighborhood is within these boundaries: from the south side of Madison beginning at SE 2nd Street extending east to South Garvin, including the west side of South Garvin, extending south to Riverside, the north side of Riverside to/along the east side of Veterans Memorial Parkway, to the south side of Shawnee Drive and Adams Avenue, and with the west side of SE 2nd Street to Madison Avenue.


President: Judy Kurth
Vice-President: Terri Dunsterville
Secretary: Christy Baker
Treasurer: Randy Clark
Representatives: Judy Kurth & Terri Dunsterville

Meeting Information

Date: Quarterly meetings on the 3rd Tuesday of the month
(January, April, July & October)
Time: 6:30 pm
Location: Rathbone Apartments, 1320 SE 2nd Street

Please contact Judy Kurth at or 812-470-1286 or Terri Dunsterville at or 812-401-1218 to verify meeting date/location.


Culver Neighborhood Association Constitution


This neighborhood is also a member of the Focus Neighborhood Council through the City of Evansville-Department of Metropolitan Development.

EPD Sector

This neighborhood is in the South Sector.
Crime Prevention Officer (CPO): Bill Fendel 812-435-6035
Meeting Date/Time: See EPD Police Sector page for current schedule.
Location: Crime Prevention Office,  CK Newsome Center, 100 E Walnut St., Suite 100, Evansville, IN 47713

Boundaries & Map

Download the KML file here. Map and KML file updated 08/09/2021